Australian Embassy and Permanent Mission to the United Nations
Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Slovakia and Slovenia

About us

About Us

The Australian Embassy in Vienna and Permanent Mission to the UN is accredited to Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Slovakia, Slovenia, and to the International Organisations in Vienna.


Head of Mission

Ambassador Mr Ian Biggs commenced his appointment on 22 May 2023. Mr Ian Biggs is the Australian Ambassador to Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Hungary, Slovenia and the Slovak Republic. Mr Biggs is Australia's Resident Representative and Governor to the Board of Governors of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), and Australia’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations in Vienna, as well as to the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organisation (CTBTO) Preparatory Commission.


TwitterAustralian Embassy  & Permanent Mission in Vienna on Twitter




FacebookAustralian Embassy  & Permanent Mission in Vienna on Facebook



Embassy Contact Details

For Embassy office hours, contact details of the Australian Consulate Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canadian Embassy Budapest, Australian Consulate Slovenia, and 24-hour consular emergency service, please refer to the Contact us page.

Embassy Public Holidays and Office Closures

The Embassy observes the following list of public holidays and will be closed on these dates:


Monday, 1 January - New Year's Day
Monday, 11 March - Canberra Day
Friday, 29 March - Good Friday
Monday, 1 April - Easter Monday
Wednesday, 1 May - Labour Day
Thursday, 9 May - Ascension
Monday, 20 May - Whit Monday
Thursday, 30 May - Corpus Christi
Thursday, 15 August - Assumption
Monday, 28 October - Austrian National Day (in lieu)
Friday, 1 November - All Saints Day
Monday, 9 December - Immaculate Conception (in lieu)
Wednesday, 25 December - Christmas Day
Thursday, 26 December - Boxing Day


About the Australian Government

A gateway to all government agencies and services.

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT)

Department of Home Affairs

Australian Trade Commission (Austrade)

Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO)

Australian Safeguards and Non-Proliferation Office (ASNO)

Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Organisation (ARPANSA)